Driving With a Suspended License (DWSL) in Georgia
Driving with a suspended or revoked license ("DWSL") in Georgia, in violation of OCGA 40-5-121, is probably the most common way that law-abiding people wind up in jail. Police officers usually arrest people for driving with a suspended license, but even if a person is not arrested for violating OCGA 40-5-121 and is given a citation instead, the penalties for a first conviction of violating OCGA 40-5-121 include being fingerprinted, which requires going to the county jail. According to OCGA 40-5-121, upon a first conviction within 5 years, a person will be sentenced to "not less than two days nor more than 12 months" in jail, and a fine of between $500 and $1,000. Further, pleading guilty to driving with a suspended license will result in an additional license suspension.
If you have been charged with driving on a suspended license, you should call an experienced attorney immediately. An experienced attorney can examine your case to determine if there are any defenses to the charge. Even if you intend to plead guilty or nolo contendere, an attorney can work with you to minimize the sentence and its impact on your life. Especially if you are charged with driving on a suspended license in a municipal court, an attorney may be able to help you to minimize the impact of a conviction.