Driving Without a License in Georgia
Driving without a license in Georgia, in violation of OCGA 40-5-20, is punished under the same statute as driving with a suspended license, OCGA 40-5-121. The penalties for a first conviction of violating OCGA 40-5-20 include being fingerprinted, which requires going to the county jail, and, according to OCGA 40-5-121, upon a first conviction within 5 years, a person will be sentenced to "not less than two days nor more than 12 months" in jail, and a fine of between $500 and $1,000. If you are not a citizen of the United States, pleading guilty to driving without a license may affect your immigration status, depending on your immigration status and your history. An experienced attorney can examine your case to determine if there are any defenses to the charge. Even if you intend to plead guilty or nolo contendere, an attorney can work with you to minimize the sentence and its impact on your life. Especially if you are charged with driving without a license in a municipal court, an attorney may be able to help you to minimize the impact of a conviction.